Tuesday, May 31, 2016

the banners are back

The beautiful banners are back flying over the main pedestrian shopping street rue Nationale in Amboise.

Monday, May 30, 2016

Memorial Day 2016

This poppy field is the perfect reminder of all those who sacrificed everything.

Sunday, May 29, 2016

église Saint-Nicolas

This view over the house tops is possible from the château de Blois which sits on higher ground.  The church dates back to a monastery of the 12th century.

Saturday, May 28, 2016

the boats are back

After being missing from the local scene for over a year, the flat-bottomed boats are back.  And just in time for this nice sunset this week.

Friday, May 27, 2016

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

down the right path

Along one of my favorite running/walking paths just next to the Loire.

Sunday, May 22, 2016

Eglise Saint-Vincent-de-Paul

This beautiful church was constructed in nearby Blois during the 17th century.

Friday, May 20, 2016

how time flies

I thought I had seen every type of flying machine overhead in Amboise until this week.  Two of these swooped by so quickly and unexpectedly that I could only get one shot before they were gone.  Is this a metaphor for something?

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Monday, May 16, 2016

la brocante 2016

The giant annual Amboise brocante (sale of second-hand goods by professionals and amateurs) was held today on the banks of the Loire.  It is a wonderful melange of old furniture, glassware, kitchen items, toys, tools, clothing, pottery, books, music, artwork, food, and so many indescribable treasures and pleasures.  It was a national holiday (the Monday after Pentecost) and the weather cooperated beautifully so the aisles were filled with throngs of families and friends.  I spent half the day there.

Saturday, May 14, 2016

on the path

Here's another one of my favorite walking paths along the banks of the Loire.

Friday, May 13, 2016

the royal fireplace

This is one of the most over the top fireplaces I've seen.  It's one of many at the château de Blois.

Thursday, May 12, 2016

l'hôtel Goüin

This beautiful mansion was constructed in nearby Tours in 1491.  It has recently undergone some serious renovations to preserve the interesting and intricate exterior.

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

when hot air is a good thing

I was peacefully having breakfast when I heard the familiar roar overhead.  I ran outside with camera in hand just in time to catch this view from our terrace.

Monday, May 9, 2016

fields of gold

The château d'Amboise looms in the distance behind this golden field of colza (canola).

Sunday, May 8, 2016

Friday, May 6, 2016

la chapelle Saint-Calais

This ceiling is in the chapel at château Blois.  It was built during the reign of king Louis XII and was consecrated in 1508.

Thursday, May 5, 2016


Last year this charming home on the road to Clos Lucé was completely renovated.  Below is a shot of the work in progress.  I'd love to have a similar treatment but walking around in all that scaffolding would be too much of a challenge.

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

château de Blois

This magnificent staircase is part of the François I wing at the nearby château de Blois.

And I hereby request dispensation for treading on my fellow City Daily Photo blogger Rosemary's territory who lives there (that would be Blois, not the château!).

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

four arches

These arched doorways are on an old building next to the Friday and Sunday market places.  On this day, the early morning sun provided some nice shadows and textures.

Monday, May 2, 2016

morning iris

This is one of those rare days when I take a shot and post it on the same day.  It's starting off to be a glorious sunny day here.

Sunday, May 1, 2016

CDP theme day - smell

Croissants baking in the oven at our local boulangerie.  We can smell them from our house.  This is France after all.

The first of every month is Theme Day for the worldwide blogging community of City Daily Photo.  To see how the other CDP bloggers interpreted the theme click here.