Thursday, November 23, 2017

fall finale


Trees along the top of the levee next to the Loire with the bridge Leclerc in the foggy distance.  And Happy Thanksgiving to all.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

the royal banners


Banners flying over the château of Amboise have the symbols of the 15th century residents King Charles VIII and his Queen, Anne of Brittany.

Friday, November 17, 2017

going fast


About a week ago these plane trees were about at their "peak" (as in this shot).  Now, the leaves are falling rapidly and will soon be only a memory.

Sunday, November 12, 2017

however you look at it


It can be startling, even uncomfortable, to look at things from another angle... but I think always interesting and sometimes rewarding. The original:


Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Monday, November 6, 2017

Sunday, November 5, 2017

Sunday sunrise


This morning I woke up to find a nearly full moon setting in the west, so out I dashed with camera in hand.  But ultimately the shot I liked most was in the opposite direction.

Saturday, November 4, 2017

Friday, November 3, 2017

fall back


France fell back an hour this past weekend.  And this photo shows what fall back in 2015 looked like.  This year the tree colors are rather muted around here.

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

CDP Theme Day - rock n roll !


C'mon, let's dance !

The first of every month is Theme Day for the worldwide bloggers of City Daily Photo and today's theme is "rock and roll".  To see how the others interpreted this theme click here.

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

three wheelin'


I discovered this vehicle parked near Place Debré.  It caught a lot of attention as you can imagine.  I have not seen anything like it so with a little help from Google, it looks to be based on an Italian motorcycle engine, manufactured by Moto Guzzi.  I don't know who made the chassis and body although the red oval insignia on the side also says Moto Guzzi.  But what a contrast to the 15th century church behind.

Monday, October 30, 2017

Indian summer


This year, October temperatures have generally been above average.  A good month for a picnic on the Ile d'Or.

Saturday, October 28, 2017

first sunset


Not the first sunset I have posted, but the first one I shot in Amboise... seven years ago on our first visit.  No wonder we bought a house here.

Sunday, October 15, 2017

nailed it


This closeup is an installation at Château Chaumont.  I imagine it will evolve as the nails begin to rust.

Friday, October 13, 2017

the search


One of dozens that I found hovering over the Loire.  I presume looking for lunch.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

les Revues Historiques - part 7


This will be the parting shot for this series of photos.  Time to get back to today.